We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used. Read our cookie policy. I understand


With an idea, Gandhi founded a movement. With a movement, he created a nation. With a nation, he changed the course of history.

01 Feb - 27 Feb 2018

Satyagraha is composer Philip Glass’s meditation on Gandhi’s early years in South Africa, tracing the progress of his concept of non-violent protest as a positive force for change.

First staged in 2007, Phelim McDermott’s highly acclaimed, spectacularly theatrical production is a visual feast. Glass’s use of repetitive musical structures – ‘minimalism’– creates a mesmerising soundscape, quite unlike traditional operas.

Following the Olivier Award-winning run of Akhnaten in 2016, McDermott is reunited with Glass-specialist conductor Karen Kamensek. Distinguished British tenor Toby Spence sings Gandhi for the first time, and is joined by sopranos Charlotte Beament (Miss Schelesen) and Anna-Clare Monk (Mrs Naidoo).

'An unmissable masterpiece'

The Daily Telegraph

'A striking achievement on many levels'

The Guardian


The Financial Times

7 Evening Performances Remaining
Running Time
3hrs 15mins

Tickets available from £12 plus booking fee.* There are 500 tickets at every performance at £20 or under.

Pre performance talk
7 Feb 2018
Tickets £5 (£2.50 for concessions)
Book your talk ticket here >>
Please note that Satyagraha is sung in Sanskrit without surtitles.

*ENO charges a £1.50 booking fee per ticket, or a maximum of £6 per transaction.

For more information, please contact our box office on 020 7845 9300 or box.office@eno.org

In collaboration with Improbable

Co-production with the Metropolitan Opera, New York


Discover Satyagraha

Creative Team

Karen Kamensek


Phelim McDermott


Julian Crouch

Associate Director/ Set Designer

Kevin Pollard

Costume Designer

Paule Constable

Lighting Designer

Leo Warner and Mark Grimmer for 59 Productions Ltd

Video Designers


Toby Spence

M. K. Gandhi

Charlotte Beament

Miss Schlesen

Anna-Clare Monk

Mrs Naidoo

Stephanie Marshall


Nicholas Folwell

Mr Kallenbach

Brindley Sherratt

Parsi Rustomji

Sarah Pring

Mrs Alexander

Eddie Wade

Prince Arjuna

Andri Björn Róbertsson

Lord Krishna